The Twist Shift Dress by Ainslee Fox for One Thimble E-zine

I have several PDF patterns from Australian designers, but sadly I’ve not taken the time to sew any of them, which is truly my loss!  I was given a chance to sew up some patterns by the talented Jen Kennedy from Ainslee Fox.  These 2 patterns are a part of the One Thimble E-zine, which is also the brainchild of Jen.  One Thimble is a PDF magazine that includes patterns, articles, and tips for seamstresses.  It’s really a fun publication for sewing enthusiasts and pattern hoarders collectors.

Image

The first pattern I sewed for my sweet girl is the Twist Shift Dress, which you can also buy as a stand alone pattern.  I was immediately drawn to the funky, geometrical color blocking on the front which gives a kick of fun to the clean, crisp silhouette of this a-line dress.

Image

I also knew right away that I wanted to use this pattern as an opportunity to use up some of my prized Parson Gray fabric.  (Parson Gray is designed by David Butler, to whom I’ve bestowed the nickname “Mr. Amy Butler”).  This fabric is earthy and has a hint of adventure.  It’s definitely not your everyday girly-girl fabric, but I think it’s perfect in this dress.  I’ve used this fabric on a few other occasions, and you can see it featured in my Elements Collection.

Image

     I love the simplicity of the back with the loop closure!  I also learned some new techniques in the tutorial, including the back opening, a unique way to close up the armholes, and of course, the fabulous welt pockets.

Image

     This dress will definitely be made again and it’s versatile enough to be worn for school or dressier occasions, like church or a holiday.  It can be layered with different types of shirts with any manner of sleeve to give you four-seasons of wear.  Stay tuned until next week when I show you my version of the Time Traveller Vest from One Thimble and Ainslee Fox!

     I also need to give a HUGE shout-out to Becca DuVal for help with editing!  She helped me save my shots and made them even more beautiful!!!

11 thoughts on “The Twist Shift Dress by Ainslee Fox for One Thimble E-zine

  1. You’ve piqued my interest now! I’m a collector too, so this sounds like I should add it to my ever expanding PDF collection. I covet a full etsy cart of PDFs but have not sewn anything by Ainsley Fox, the bonus of new techniques is exciting to me. I love that back opening. Thanks for your review.

  2. Pingback: The Time Traveller Vest by Ainslee Fox for One Thimble E-zine | Snickerdoodle Stew

  3. Pingback: Stardust Dress: Summer Edition | Snickerdoodle Stew

  4. Pingback: Baby Fakie Pants Pattern from One Thimble | Snickerdoodle Stew

Leave a comment