What is Snickerdoodle Stew?

I’m sure you all are dying to know why in the world I would call this “Snickerdoodle Stew!”  Are we talking dessert?  Or soup?  Or what?!

When I was little, I had this crazy, silk screened t-shirt that I LOVED to wear.  I don’t remember much about the exact details, other than it was lime green, it had some colorful squiggles on it and it said “snickerdoodle.”  

I’ve always loved snickerdoodle cookies, too.  I don’t know what it is.  Maybe it’s rolling them into little balls and then into cinnamon and sugar and having them come out of the oven in perfectly round, crisp cookies.  Or maybe it’s the fact that my husband would eat them by the dozen.  In fact, the last time I made them for him to take to work to share, I got a marriage proposal from one of his coworkers.  Needless to say, they are one of my favorite cookies to make AND eat.

The “Stew” part was easy.  My last name is Stewart.  I’ve always liked decorating and making things, so before my husband came into the picture, we used to joke that all I had to do was marry a man named “Stewart” and I’d be halfway on my way to Martha.  I just don’t look that good in stripes.  Maybe chevrons. 😉

So, when I was coming up with a name for my designs, it seemed like everything I thought of had been taken.  Then I came up with this combination, and it clicked!  I even designed a “signature” skirt, that I felt reflected the warm, cinnamon and sugar tones that you’d find in my favorite cookie.  My plan is to design other garments with the same colorways, but until then, I leave you with my sweet girl, Lydia, and the Snickerdoodle Stew Ruffled Skirt.

Image

2 thoughts on “What is Snickerdoodle Stew?

  1. Yo Steweeeyyy…Can I use your real name on here? I love your site and I love the new cute things you’ve made. Well, I’ve deleted my facebook account. Don’t hyperventilate…just sit down…..and now I’ve forgotten your email and feel in a panic because I don’t know how to get a hold of you on this thing. Anyway, I’ll call you tomorrow when I think it’s the least chance of interruption.

Leave a Reply

